Oh the rain

I prefer to write when it rains; maybe it is the pitter patter that soothes me into a calm, clears my head, makes me stop thinking so I can think of other things, things apart from me, things deep within me. Maybe it’s the coldness, the damp, the chilly breeze in the air that makes you sense the weather is changing, makes you sense your own spirit’s changing. Could it be the way the little raindrops casts a spell on the city, driving them all back inside, hushing them into a lull. Perhaps it’s the sudden thunder that rumbles my imagination, or the lighting that startles out plots and characters I thought were hidden.

raintheme

I can’t put my finger on it, but when it rains I write. This is why, when I saw this wordpress theme I felt as though someone was telling me to write more often. Not because I have a lot to say, or even because it’s worth reading, but for practice, or maybe my own sanity. The thing is, I love my current theme and wasn’t planning on changing it. But I’ve never seen a theme like this; not only is it beautiful, it speaks to the writer in me. I’m on the fence about it for now. What makes you decide on your themes? Does it matter to you at all what your theme looks like? How often do you change your theme? I have one blog, where I change it seasonally; others, like this one, I let be.

Themes don’t make the blog, content does, but I love when I visit a blog or website that has a unique theme. It makes me want to stay.

It’s raining now, and that enough for me, it’s perfect me. But for days that are all too sunny, I might need a rainy day theme to help water my imagination, maybe something worthwhile might bloom as a result.

Leave a Reply

