silent partner

cage

While you were building a cage around your heart, I entered just before you closed the door. I thought I’d be welcome there. Thinking perhaps you may need me, I decided to stay, silently. Not making too much noise, I lived quietly behind the bars. Was my presence too small? I went unnoticed. Then I realized you weren’t looking for a silent partner. You were looking for someone who would rattle the cage, break down the bars, and set your heart free.

My love was easy, too easy. It didn’t make you feel. It didn’t break down any of your barriers. It was just there, sitting, liking a silent bird in a cage.

 

Leave a Reply

