Calling all writers

One of my new year’s goals is to read works from new authors, lesser known authors, or even yet to be published writers. I love discovering new favorite authors that aren’t known to the general public or writing world. Each month, I’d like to invest in a new writer and review their work on my blog. This is a little easier said than done. I didn’t realize how hard it is find “underground” writers. Google searches usually turn up rather mainstream books and authors, or I’m finding myself on sites that seem to have been abandoned. Hence the reason for this post. If you are a writer, and would like to have your book or even writing blog reviewed please leave a comment down below and I’ll try to add it to the list.

I’m not a book critic, nor am I trying to become one. I simply remember stumbling across a writer’s blog that was very much unknown and falling in love with the author’s works. The feeling of finding something, and becoming a fan is like a high you don’t want to descend from.

Poems, short stories, novels, daily musing, even how to books– if you wrote it I’d like to read it. And yes, I will be purchasing works if they intrigue me. Writing is a business as much as an art. I think it’s important that writers be invested in. It’s all fine and well to visit blogs, but if you can, buy a book.

With that said, leave comments below if you have a piece that you’d like to share with me.

 

3 thoughts on “Calling all writers

  1. That’s so awesome! I’m trying to do the same thing and have actually found myself with more new books than I can probably read in a year! Not a bad thing by any means, but I do lose track of whose book I said I would read next! Oops! Anyway, if you’re still looking for newer, lesser known books, my first book is called Cemetery Tours. It’s a ghost story and you can find it on Amazon.com and BarnesAndNoble.com, Kindle, and Nook. πŸ™‚ http://windtrailpublishing.com/cemetery-tours.html

    1. I’m glad there someone else whose doing something similar. I’m a little worried myself that I’ll have more suggestions than I can read but so far I haven’t had too many. I checked out your book; it looks like my kind of read so I’m adding it to my list. In fact, it’s first on my list πŸ™‚

      1. Yay!!! I’m so excited! Thank you! My list goes as follows: one book I’m editing for a friend, two books by my pen pal, at least seven by fellow author friends, at least four from WordPress friends, and a few that I’ve gotten for free in exchange for reviews… And I’m working on my own book… So much! But I can’t lie. I love it! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

